Rajasthan ~ the land of Rajputs!

Rajasthan – the land of Rajputs and Royalty, lakes and mountains, palaces and forts is a must visit for anyone who loves to travel.
When trying to create an itinerary – its important to decide how you want to travel – car, train etc. and how many days do you have….we had about 8 days and wanted to travel by car so that we could manage our own schedule. We decided to do the following in the 9 days (8nights)….alas we couldn’t go as far as Jaisalmer but that’s for another time..
  • Mount Abu 1 night
  • Pushkar 1 night (we also covered Ajmer then)
  • Ranthambore National Park (1 night)
  • Jaipur 2 nights
  • Jodhpur 1 night
  • Udaipur 2 nights.
Seems rushed? Probably was…but on the road with stops at various eateries & places of interest it didn’t seem so – it came to about 24 hours of driving time in Rajasthan over the period of 9 days.
The must sees at the various cities are:-
Ajmer – Ajmer-e-Sharief Dargah, Ann Sagar Lake
Pushkar – Pushkar Lake, Lord Brahma Temple  – the only temple in India dedicated to Lord Brahma.

Mount Abu –  Adhar Devi temple, Sunset point, Guru Sikhar, iwara Jain Temple, Nakki Lake
Ranthambore National Park – Jungle Safari by Jeep and/or Cantor – we did both and were lucky to spot a Tiger…
Jaipur “the pink city” – Jal Mahal, Hawa Mahal, Amber Fort & Palace, City Palace & Museum, and don’t forget to visit the local markets
Jodhpur “the blue city” – Umaid Bhawan Palace, Mehrangarh Fort & Jaswant Thada
Udaipur “the city of lakes” – Lake Pichola, City Palace, Fateh Sagar, Bhartiya Lok Kala Museum, Maharan Pratap Memorial, Nehru Gardens, Sehelion ki Bari (Queen’s resort for her friends).
I wish you a magical journey to the state with so much history and culture…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.